The Asia Cup – Tournament For The Cricket Nations Of Asia

Cricket captains pose with the Asia Cup cricket tournament trophy during a ceremony in Dhaka

The Asia Cup is an One Day International cricket tournament for mens, it was first started in 1984 at Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates where the council’s offices were based initially. India has won the title most times(Five Times). The 12th edition is going on which is from 25 February to 8 March 2014. Pakistan is the current champion of the Asia Cup.

Today, total teams which are comes under this tournament are  India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates and United Arab Emirates. Sanath Jayasuriya scored most runs that is 1220 runs and most wicket taker bowler is also srilankan  Muttiah Muralitharan with 30 Wickets. 

Cricket captains pose with the Asia Cup cricket tournament trophy during a ceremony in DhakaNow,In 12th edition five teams(India,Sri Lanka,Pakistan,Bangladesh,Afghanistan) are taking part. Today, match will play between India and Bangladesh. The game is scheduled for a 2 pm local time start with live coverage on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 3 and Star Sports HD1 in India.

An India ODI side without MS Dhoni is a bit like a cat without its nails – a little blunt and relatively inexperienced when it comes to the business end of the innings.  Of course, the man replacing Dhoni at the helm is perhaps the most important player in the India team at the moment, and Virat Kohli will need to find that extraordinary gear, both with the bat and the mind, if India are to go all the way in this Asia Cup 2014. First up for the former champions are Bangladesh, a team that is a bit low on confidence at the moment, but also a unit determined to go one better after falling in the final hurdle against Pakistan in the last Asia Cup.


Social Share Toolbar